SHORT BLOG: #Respect

We are going to talk about respect and woman empowerment; how this is connected with your self-esteem. It mirrors your self-worth. If you have a clear understanding with self-esteem, you would have a brief overview why respect is connected with self-esteem.

When you value yourself and you love what you have, you gain confidence and have a sense of contentment. And when you do, you know how to respect yourself and the end result, you show respect to other people. You see, respect is not being forced, it is always being earned. You cannot ask people to respect you if they see or hear things opposite of what you want. People pay their respect towards you depending on how you treat others and how you present yourself; inside and out.

If you’ll look into all social media networks, posting your “selcas” or “selfies” is quite rampant. Let us take Facebook as an example, you see women posting pictures in their bikinis or overly exposed clothes but in their caption, you’ll see the statement “respect my post.” I mean, how can you respect a person with the way they dress? Plus their provocative facial expression.

This does not mean to judge or criticize the way you dress but come on, you know for a fact that you cannot control how other people react. So might as well apply the 90/10 rule. You can only control 10% of the whole situation, meaning you can only control what you have shared. So if you want to be respected, you have to always present yourself in a proper way. And please, do not even think of commenting that example of posting picture in a bikini is a form of art because it is not.

There are also instances that no matter properly mannered you are there are always certain individuals who will disrespect you. Instead of wasting your time in explaining or preaching them about respect, do not be bothered because karma will slap them in due time.

Be sincere and considerate to others are simple ways to show your respect. When giving out your opinions, feedback or standpoint, you have to always check the choice of words you use as some words could be threatening. It does not mean that you need not to voice out your thoughts; it’s just a matter of how you deliver your message.

And last but not the least, you have to remember to pay respect to yourself; not only your body but your totality as a person. Putting others before you is an example of altruism of selflessness; it is considered a kind and sincere act and people will take you in a different light. It is self-fulfilling to actually help others but doing this over and over damages your self-respect. It is not bad to be selfish at times because if people need help from others, you also need to help yourself as well. You cannot give respect if you cannot give it to yourself first.

I’d love to hear your thoughts regarding this matter, Lovelies. Drop a comment and let us start our Pinay Time! 🙂 ❤

2 thoughts on “SHORT BLOG: #Respect

  1. Growing up I’ve always gone by the motto “Treat others how you want to be treated”. Then I realized even when you treat people with so much respect and loyalty, they don’t always return the favor. All of my friends know I would do absolutely anything for any of them and sometimes they like to take advantage of it to the point where I end up hurt. I know I shouldn’t be so nice to people don’t deserve it but I just have too much of a good heart. I care more about others more than I do myself and I need to find a happy medium. This post had made me realize I need to put my foot down and focus on myself sometimes

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad I was able to help you in a way. I have the same motto for years but there is always an exception. In life, you give too much to people you value the most, regardless if they take advantage of you or not but trust me, good karma will return ten folds. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

